YouTube TV rolls launches in 34 new metro areas

YouTube has rolled out its subscription YouTube TV service to 34 new metro areas, making it now available in more than 80 cities and locales across the US.

YouTube_TVThe new launch areas include Albany, Baton Rouge, Buffalo, Colorado Springs, Des Moines, Flint, Rochester, Fresno, Knoxville, New Orleans, Omaha, Providence, Spokane, Toledo, Tulsa and Tuscon.

YouTube first unveiled YouTube TV in March and initially introduced the over-the-top offering to Chicago, Philadelphia, New York City, the San Francisco Bay Area and Los Angeles.

It added a further 10 metro areas in late July and another 14 in August, making it available to roughly half of American homes, and has continued to expand since then.

YouTube TV offers a line-up of more than 40 channels, including the some of the biggest US broadcast networks in ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC and ESPN.

It is available across devices, includes a cloud DVR with “no storage limits” for recording TV shows, and costs US$35 per month without commitments – substantially cheaper than a typical US cable subscription.

Read Next