EBU elects new board

Ibrahim Eren, Marcello Foa, Giacomo Ghisani, Sergei Pavlov and Gonçalo Reis

European public broadcasters organization the EBU has elected a new executive board, with nine executives from public media across the continent joining EBU president Tony Hall, director-general of the BBC, and vice-president Delphine Ernotte, director-general of France Télévisions.

The other new members of the board are: Ibrahim Eren, director-general of Turkey’s TRT; Marcello Foa, the new president of Italy’s Rai; Giacomo Ghisani, acting director-general of Radio Vaticana; Sergei Pavlov, director of international relations and member of the board of directors of Channel One Russia; and Gonçalo Reis, president and CEO of Portugal’s RTP.

Cilla Benkö of Sweden’s SR, Petr Dvořák of the Czech Republic’s CT, Ulrich Wilhelm of Germany’s ARD/BR and Gilles Marchand of Switzerland’s SRG SSR were all re-elected to serve a new term.

Leaving the board are former president Jean-Paul Philippot of Belgium’s RTBF and former vice-president Monica Maggioni of Rai.

Incoming president Hall said: “I welcome this new EBU executive board. Public service media has never been more important or more needed.  As we begin our EBU presidency in January, Delphine Ernotte Cunci and I look forward to working closely with the new Board and the EBU director-general Noel Curran, as well as with all EBU members and staff. It’s a time of great excitement and opportunity in global media. And I firmly believe that the time for public service media has come ­­– with brilliant local content, impartial news and a universal mission that brings us all together. Through working together I believe that EBU members can deliver even more for our audiences, and I’m excited about working with the new executive board to deliver that ambition over the two years ahead.”

Read Next