Breaking: Synamedia, DAZN and Media Distillery among VideoTech Innovation Awards winners

Companies including Synamedia, DAZN, Orange and Media Distillery were among those to triumph at this year’s VideoTech Innovation Awards.

Tonight, during a ceremony at the Church House Westminster in London, Digital TV Europe announced this year’s VideoTech Innovation Awards (VIA) winners. Launched in 2019, the VIAs program recognises innovation and achievement in video distribution and the underlying technology platforms that enable it. The VIAs followed Informa Tech’s successful inaugural Media & Entertainment Leaders Summit, the premier event for changemakers in creating, distributing, and monetising TV and online video content, which was held today also at Church House Westminster,

The judges for this year’s highly-coveted awards include Elliott Seller, Head of Connected Home & Innovation Products at Vodafone, Maria Rua Aguete, Senior Director Media and Entertainment at Omdia, Brigita Brjuhhanov, TV Product Owner / Team Lead at Elisa Estonia, Matthew Huntington, Director of Product at Arqiva, Daniel Simmons, Research Director, Media Delivery at Omdia, Paul Robinson, Managing Director at Kartoon Channel! Worldwide, Laura Chaibi, Director of Ad Marketing and Insights – International at Roku and Stuart Thomson, Editor at Digital TV Europe.

The winners of the VIA Awards are as follows:

Advanced TV Innovation of the Year
Vizrt for Object Tracker
Synamedia for Just-In-Time streaming from Quortex, a Synamedia company

AI and ML (Operational Efficiency) Innovation of the Year
Comcast Technology Solutions for VideoAI

Next-Gen Advertising Award
DAZN with Google Ad Manager for Building an Addressable & Programmatic TV Sales House of the Future

Live-streaming Initiative of the Year
Synamedia for Synamedia Immersive Live Sports Streaming in 8K

The Revenue Security Award
Verimatrix for Verimatrix Streamkeeper

Streaming Service Innovation of the Year
Orange for Orange Immersive Tour

AI and ML (Customer Retention) Innovation of the Year
Vionlabs AB for Fingerprint+

Video Technologist of the Year
Ching Ping Lee, Chief Technology Officer, Mola

FAST Innovation of the Year
Wurl for Wurl Global FAST Pass

UX and Content Discovery Award
Media Distillery for NLZiet powered by Media Distillery

Streaming Service Optimisation Technology of the Year
Synamedia for Synamedia FLUID EdgeCDN Application-Tailored Latency

Customer Engagement Innovation of the Year
TiVo for TiVo User Cold Start (USC)

Advanced TV Service of the Year
Media Distillery for NLZiet powered by Media Distillery

Streaming Platform Technology of the Year
JW Player for JWP End-to-End Broadcasting Solution

The Super Aggregator Award
Irdeto for Irdeto Super Aggregator Solution

Lifetime Achievement Award
Nick Thexton, Chief Technology Officer, Synamedia

For more information on the VideoTech Innovation Awards, please visit the official VIA website at

Most Recent