RTL announces board reshuffle

Pan regional broadcast group RTL Group has reorganised its board of directors following the resignation of Bertelsmann chief executive Hartmut Ostrowski.

Ostrowski, who has been a member of the RTL Group board since 2008, will be replaced by Thomas Hesse, who will become a non-executive director from January 1 2012. His appointment will be presented at the company’s next annual general meeting for ratification. Hesse is currently president, global digital business, US sales and corporate strategy at Sony Music Entertainment. He joins Siegfried Luther, chairman of the board of directors of RTL Group, Günther Grüger, executive vice-president, corporate controlling and strategy, Bertelsmann, Bertelsemann’s incoming chief executive Thomas Rabe, former Luxembourg prime minister Jacques Santer, Nestle chief financial officer James Singh and Syngenta chairman Martin Taylor on the board.

RTL operates 41 television channels in 10 countries and also operates international production and distribution firm FremantleMedia.

Luther said: “We are happy to welcome Thomas Hesse, as RTL Group will benefit from his high level of expertise and a profound understanding of the digital media world.”

Tags: RTL

Most Recent