Russia passes must-carry rules

Russian authorities have approved new rules that require pay-TV platforms to carry eight channels free-to-air. The new obligations will be written into the relevant operating licences and apply to all pay-TV platforms.

The channels in question include four from state-owned Rossiya: Rossiya 1; Rossiya 2; Rossiya 24; and Rossiya K. State-owned Channel One is also on the list alongside NTV, Bibigon and Channel 5 St Petersburg.