Berretta and Sullivan amongst Digital TV Europe Awards winners

Euro50 Awards NightEutelsat chairman Giuliano Berretta and BSkyB customer group chief Brian Sullivan scooped two of the top awards at the inaugural Digital TV Europe Awards in London last night. Leaders of the European pay-TV and broadband industries gathered for a drinks reception and gala dinner at the Hyatt Regency Hotel at the end of the first day of the Digital TV World Summit to celebrate Digital TV Europe’s Euro 50 and honour the winners of our seven awards.


AwardsGiuliano Berretta was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award after 10 years as CEO of Eutelsat (of which he continues to serve as chairman). Brian Sullivan, managing director, customer group, BSkyB received the Digital TV Europe Award for his work on Sky’s range of industry-leading products including Sky Plus and Sky Plus HD.

Also picking up awards last night were Kevin Baughan, director of technical strategy at Virgin Media (New Media Innovator) and Pascal Dormal, managing director, Numericable Belgium and director, group development, Numericable (Marketer of the Year).

The Industry Leader Award went to Tom Mockridge, CEO of Sky Italia. Linda Jensen, CEO of HBO Central Europe, was named as Content Executive of the Year, while Per-Ola Wester, chief architect, IPTV, TeliaSonera, was given the Technology Leader Award.

The full list of nominees included: Romain Bausch, SES, Stéfane France, Orange, Tom Mockridge, Sky Italia, Shane O’Neill, Liberty Global and Duco Sickinghe, Telenet (Industry Leader category); Kevin Baughan, Virgin Media, Yves Padrines, NDS and Per-Ola Wester, TeliaSonera (Technology Leader); Linda Jensen, HBO Central Europe, Tony Kelly, On Demand Group and John Taite, BBC Worldwide (Content Executive of the Year); Juan Alfonso, ESPN, Pascal Dormal, Numericable and Chris Winkelmolen, UPC Broadband (Marketer of the Year); Jeremy Allaire, Brightcove, Kevin Baughan, Virgin Media and Erik Huggers, BBC (New Media Innovator).

Read Next