HbbTV names new Steering Group members

Klaus Illgner-Fehns

Klaus Illgner-Fehns

The HbbTV Association has named its newly elected Steering Group, which will focus on “extending the consumer benefits of hybrid broadcast TV” with the deployment of HbbTV 2.0.

The new Steering Group, which will serve for a two-year term, features representatives from Deutsche Telekom, RTL Group, the EBU, Freesat, Samsung and Sony.

Klaus Illgner-Fehns, managing director of the research centre of German broadcasters, the IRT, was re-elected as chairman of the group. TP Vision’s Jon Piesing was re-elected as vice-chair and TNO’s Rob Koenen continues to serve as treasurer.

“With over 35 million HbbTV devices deployed and hundreds of services on air, HbbTV is the largest interactive TV platform available for broadcasters to build new and attractive TV and OTT services,” said Illgner.

“Our new Steering Group is strengthened with the addition of these new industry leaders who have the experience, vision and determination to take HbbTV services to the next level.”

The newly elected Steering Group includes the following members: Xavi Redon, Cellnext; Nicolai Leymann, Deutsche Telekom; Ian Medland, Digital TV Group; Peter MacAvock, EBU; Bob Campbell, Eurofins Digital Testing; Matthew Huntington, Freesat.

Also in the group is: Stuart Savage, LG Electronics; Frode Hernes, Opera TV; Angelo Pettazzi, Reti Televisive Italiane; Henry Rivero, RTL Group; John Adam, Samsung Electronics; Nigel Moore, Sony Europe; Pedro Valiente Echezarreta, Tivù.

Tags: HbbTV

Most Recent