Proximus agrees four-year Belgian football deal

proximus logoBelgian operator Belgacom has signed an exclusive agreement with the Belgian Pro League to rename and broadcast the current D1B division 2 championship.

The championship will now be made up of eight teams, will be named the ‘Proximus League’ and will be broadcast by Proximus for the next four seasons – as of the 2016-2017 season.

Proximus said the new agreement will allow it to strengthen its local football coverage by offering the Proximus League in its new format along with coverage of the Jupiler Pro League in its entirety.

“This agreement will enable the Pro League to financially support its eight new members and, in the interest of the public in particular, increase the quality of this new championship. This clearly represents a promotion for the Division 2 clubs that will have acquired the right to access it at the end of this season,” said Pro League CEO, Pierre François.

Read Next