ITU management team to be inaugurated

The new management team at the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) will be formally inaugurated tomorrow at the ITU’s Popov Hall in Geneva.

Houlin Zhao of the People’s Republic of China was elected Secretary-General at the ITU Plenipotentiary Conference last October in Busan, Korea. He was previously ITU Deputy Secretary-General for two four-year terms.

Malcolm Johnson of the UK was elected ITU deputy secretary-general. He was previously the director of the ITU Standardisation Bureau for two four-year terms.

François Rancy and Brahima Sanou were re-elected as directors of the Radiocommunication Bureau and Telecommunication Development Bureau respectively.

Chaesub Lee from Korea was elected director of the ITU Standardisation Bureau.

This year marks the ITU’s 150th anniversary, with a range of events scheduled throughout the year.

Most Recent