Ofcom opens new round of local TV licence applications

Ofcom logoUK communications and media regulator Ofcom has invited applications to operate 11 further local TV services across the country.

The new licences are for Barnstaple, Basingstoke, Derry/Londonderry, Gloucester, Guildford, Limavady, Luton, Maidstone, Plymouth, Reading and Salisbury.

Ofcom has received 10 applications for its earlier call to operate licences for Bangor, Cambridge, Middlesbrough, Mold, Scarborough, Swansea and York. The regulator has already awarded 19 licences, with the first channel, Grimsby’s Estuary TV, expected to go on air in November.

The local TV channels will launch on the Freeview DTT platform and will also be available online.

The closing date for applications for the latest round of licences is January 7.

Tags: DTT, Ofcom, UK

Most Recent