EBU members make president vote

The president and vice-president of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) have been elected for a further two-year term during yesterday’s opening session of the EBU General Assembly in Strasbourg.

Jean-Paul Philippot from Belgium’s RTBF has been appointed as president for a third term, while Claudio Cappon from Italy’s RAI has been appointed vice-president for a second full consecutive term.

Themis Themistocleous from Cyprus’s CYBC was chosen to fill the vacant post of member of the executive board for the remainder of 2012. He replaces Teresa Pignatelli.

“I am very grateful for the confidence and support of our Members. I look forward to continuing to work with the executive board and the director general to defend and promote the values that reflect our distinctiveness as public service media, and ensure that our audiences have free access to our content on all media platforms,” said Philippot.

Tags: EBU