AEPOC unveils new organisation to tackle piracy

Anti-piracy organisation AEPOC has unveiled a new action plan and re-organisation.

The new organisation will be based on four standing committees. A committee on intelligence will be headed by Rob van Nunen (Irdeto), one on regulatory and lobbying will be led by Andreas Rudloff (Sky Deutschland), while a membership, marketing and PR committee will be headed by Michael Barley (BSkyB) and one on finance will be led by the AEPOC president Philippe-Olivier Rousseau (BNP Paribas).

The new action plan was spearheaded by Rousseau and vice-presidents Christine Maury-Panis (Viaccess) and Barley and formerly adopted at the ordinary general assembly and board of directors meetings held on September 14 in Amsterdam.

Rousseau said: “AEPOC’s new action plan builds the ground to more actively assess and effectively coordinate initiatives to address audio-visual piracy and foster the way for increased industry cooperation among the members, which are leaders in their respective markets. With an enhanced organisational structure and more work resources clearly attributed, this initiative shall be instrumental in unlocking the potential inherent in AEPOC to take the Association to the next level in the fight against audio-visual piracy in Europe – and beyond.”

Separately, Davide Rossi has left his position of secretary general, and a search for a replacement has begun.

One of the first initiatives under the new structure is a campaign to tackle card sharing.

Read Next